Interview with Susanna Stone

I’m thrilled to welcome Susanna Stone today.

Thanks Kayden, for having me as your blogging guest today.

Please tell us about your book.

I have to start with saying how excited I am over my latest erotic romance, Timelost Lover. It’s my third book published with Ellora’s Cave, and my favourite, hands down.

In Timelost Lover, I send my heroine, Tannis Romilly, to historic Castle Tullamore in Donegal, and then back in time to 1910, where she meets up with the famous artist, Brendan Pearse. Tannis knows if she doesn’t pose for his most important painting, Ireland Free, the history of modern Ireland just might unfold in a whole different way.

The idea for this paranormal story started when a group of Ellora’s Cave writers decided it would be fun to write a series of supernatural stories taking place in Ireland, in an ancient castle-turned-hotel. We all worked on the series bible and, with approval from Ellora’s Cave, went ahead with Emerald Isle Fantasies. My book is the seventh in the series, and I’ve found it really encouraging to work with all these other writers, sharing characters and history and the amazing features of the castle. The other stories are brilliant, set in various times in the castle’s history, and all our cover art is stunning.

I had a ton of fun with the time travel aspect, something that’s always intrigued me. The idea of using an elevator as a time portal has been rattling around in my head for years, so once I got going, it was clear this was going to be the perfect device.

The biggest challenge, I found, was to bring these two lovers together, when their own social understanding was so disparate, coming from over a century apart. The trickiest part — and the most fun — was working out their lovemaking, considering his expectations of a respectable women in 1910, and her own experience from the twenty-first century. But that’s all part of the game.

I’ve been writing forever, it seems (since the fourth grade, actually) and while I’ve lost count of all the dusty, well-travelled manuscripts sitting in my filing cabinets and on my hard drive, it’s been a whole new experience to actually have a publisher want it, and then to have complete strangers buy my books.

Writing erotic romance isn’t exactly what I had in mind back in the fourth grade (duh!) but I’m certainly enjoying the flights of fantasy I can engage in. It’s a great exercise for the imagination, and all my characters are simply ordinary people who find themselves being pulled out of their comfort zone. And liking it.

Out there in the world of erotic romance, there are some pretty mind-bending — and body-bending — extremes to explore. But me, I’m way, way over on the, shall we say, prim end of the continuum. Whips and chains and vampires? No way. But silk cords and feathers and time travellers… ah, now we’re talking.

***************
You can visit Susanna’s Blog at http://susannastone.blogspot.ca/

Be sure to enjoy the  Timelost Lover trailer

You can buy Timelost Lover from Ellora’s Cave or Amazon

 

Part of the Emerald Isle Fantasies series

When Tannis first sees an iconic painting by Irish nationalist artist Brendan Pearse, she’s stunned that the naked woman in the picture looks exactly like her, even down to the intricate Celtic tattoo on her breast. Seeking answers, she travels to Castle Tullamore, an ancient Irish stronghold steeped in magic, where the artist lived and worked a hundred years ago. Inexplicably, she is whisked back in time and meets him face to face.

Brendan doesn’t know what to make of this otherworldly woman who seems to have come out of nowhere to be his model. But he knows she’s exactly the woman he needs for his Irish Freedom trilogy. At the risk of endangering his master work, and against all his own rules, he knows he can never hope to capture her essence on canvas without first possessing her body in the flesh.

But their time together will be heart-breakingly brief, because Tannis knows Brendan died tragically young, and there’s nothing she can do to change history.

A Romantica® time travel erotic romance from Ellora’s Cave.

Thanks for sharing with us today, Susanna.

Timelost Lover by Susanna Stone

One thought on “Interview with Susanna Stone

Leave a Reply

