Interview with Nona Raines

Today I’m interviewing Nona Raines.

Nona, please tell us a little about yourself.

Hi, Kayden! Thanks so much for having me here today. My name is Nona Raines and I write contemporary romance (some erotic, some not). I live in upstate New York with my dog and cats and runaway imagination. I’m a former librarian who loves to read all kinds of books.

When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing a long time but have only been published a few years. Why begin writing? That’s a great question! Maybe because I wanted to tell the stories that have running around in my brain for so long. 

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Hmm. I think a theme in a lot of my stories is about letting go of painful past events in order to embrace the present. Since I don’t write paranormal or action/adventure, my characters aren’t usually struggling against a “villain”, per se. They are more often struggling against their own fears and misconceptions.

What authors have most influenced you? Why?

E.B. White’s Charlotte’s Web is a book I love because of the lovely writing style and the themes of friendship, love and loyalty. I also enjoy Mary Balogh’s historical romances and her themes of forgiveness. I’m not sure if they’ve influenced me, but they are certainly authors I admire.

What are you reading now?

I’m usually juggling several books at once. Right now I’m reading the last of Lorelei James’ Rough Riders series, Cowboy Take Me Away (sniffle–it’s always hard to say goodbye to a series when the characters seem like friends) and several New Adult books. I’ve also read and re-read a wonderful graphic memoir by Roz Chast, Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? It’s a must-read for anyone dealing with aging parents.

What is your favorite punctuation mark and why?

Is an ellipsis a punctuation mark? I think that’s my favorite, because it’s mysterious. It implies there’s something more going on that’s unstated. Goodness knows I use plenty of them in my writing…

Tell us about your new release.

My latest release is an erotic romance novella titled Read to Me:
At the age of forty-four, Blaise Blankenship believes her own opportunity for romance has long since passed until she accidentally lands in the lap of a sexy stranger. She and the handsome Latino connect over an afternoon at a local bookstore, sharing their love of erotica. Blaise is swept away by an impetuous, hot, “no-last names” night together. But the morning after reveals a truth she can’t ignore—or avoid.

Thanks Nona for joining us today. And for our readers here is and excerpt. I hope you enjoy it.

Excerpt:

His gaze roamed the stacks. “Interesting place. I enjoy book shops, but I’ve never been here before.”
“It’s one of my favorite spots. I love to come and browse, just sit and read.”
“I read so much for my job, I’ve gotten out of the habit of reading for enjoyment. I miss it.” He pulled a book from the shelf and showed her the spine. Lady Chatterley’s Lover. “This is one of my favorites.”
Suddenly, it became difficult to breathe. “Yes.” She forced the word through her constricted throat. “That’s an amazing novel.”
Constance Chatterley could only find sexual fulfillment with gamekeeper Oliver Mellors. This man, whoever he was, would make a perfect Mellors.
And she would be Lady Chatterley?
As he stood holding the D.H. Lawrence volume, Blaise imagined his large hands stroking her, caressing her body. She quivered, her panties moistening.
Look away, look away!
Quickly, she redirected her gaze to his face. His lips quirked in a little smile. Oh, God, had he guessed where her thoughts had wandered? “Umm, I take the bus all the time, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen you before.”
He nodded. “I usually drive to work and back, but my car’s in the shop and I couldn’t catch a ride with anyone, so…” He extended his hand. “I’m Guy, by the way.”
“Hi, I’m Blaise.” When they shook hands, she again flashed to the image of him touching her in more intimate ways.
He replaced Lady Chatterley on the shelf. “I didn’t mean to interrupt your reading.” He nodded at her book. “Cupid’s Delight. I’m not familiar with that one. Any good?”
Blood rushed to her cheeks. Oh Blaise, don’t be a baby. She cleared her throat, flustered by the feelings this man brought out in her. “Too early to tell. I haven’t started it.”
“It sounds intriguing, doesn’t it?” His gaze held hers and excitement fizzed through her.
She swallowed hard and nodded. “I think so, too.”
With a tilt of his head, Guy indicated the red velvet loveseat wedged into the corner. “Maybe we could sit, read it together.”
Her breath hitched, and her heart thumped so hard she’d have been surprised if he couldn’t see her blouse flutter. Had this man actually asked to read erotica with her? Yes.
And was she going to agree? Yes!

Purchase Read to Me at:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
All Romance Ebooks
The Wild Rose Press
Apple ITunes

Find Nona Raines at:
www.nonaraines.com
Sign up for her newsletter for new release info and fun tidbits
Facebook, Twitter, Blog

perf5.000x8.000.indd

7 thoughts on “Interview with Nona Raines

Leave a Reply

