Favorite Food Thurdsay – 24 Hour Coleslaw

Spring has finally showed up and I love to barbeque. Here is a recipe that I got from my sister that I love. it’s easy and everyone gobbles it up. Hope you enjoy.

 24 Hour Coleslaw      Coleslaw

The summer is upon us and this is one of my favorite recipes when we barbeque. I got it from my sister and I hope you enjoy it too.

1 – large cabbage, shredded

1 – large onion, chopped

1 – large green pepper, finely chopped

1 medium carrot, shredded

2 cups white vinegar

1 cup canola oil

3 cups granulated sugar

4 tsp salt

4 tsp celery seed

1 tsp dry mustard power

½ tsp black pepper

Put cabbage, onion, green pepper and carrot into a large bowl. Measure remaining ingredients into a large saucepan. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Pour hot mixture over cabbage mixture. Stir to mix and press down until vegetables are wilted and are covered with brine. Cool. Store in covered container in refrigerator. Let stand 1 or 2 days before eating.

Leave a Reply

