Interview with Heidi Kneale

Welcome Heidi. Tell us a little about yourself.

I live in Australia, on the coast of the Indian Ocean. I live about as far away as you can get from everywhere else without leaving the planet. I am tempted to leave the planet, as I am an astronomer and spend much of my time staring at the stars.

When and why did you begin writing?

Probably as soon as I could hold a pencil. I’ve always had a love of stories. I was a precocious reader, which probably saved my writerly soul, because I always found the picture books of the time to be rather tepid and pandering. Thank goodness they’ve evolved into something far more genuine.

I started writing because I couldn’t not write. I had stories to tell! Also I’d read the works of others and sometimes think, “I could do better than that.” (Whether or not that’s true remains to be seen.”)

I was first published in a literary magazine when I was seventeen, and I’ll continue writing until you pry the keyboard from my cold, stiff hands.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Courage to be yourself. We are at our most honest when we are true to ourselves. Also, seek out the positive in life. Only in positivity does true happiness lie.

What authors have most influenced you? Why?

I confess I owe a guilty gratitude to the Romance authors of the 80’s for showing me that HEA (Happily Ever After) can happen despite the crap that life throws at us. I’m also partial to contemporary Fantasy Authors for showing me that you can eat at two different banquets at the same time.

What are you reading now?

My TBR pile has a blend of books. I’ve got some indie Regency Romance authors like Margaret McGaffey Fisk, and some contemporary paranormal authors like SKS Perry and will always see out the works of my favorite Fantasy Romance authors Gail Carriger and Mary Robinette Kowal. I’m a devotee of eBooks, so the whole of the world’s available literature is my potential TBR pile.

What is your favorite punctuation mark and why?

Love the semicolon, possible because I know how to use it. I find it most useful for connecting two sentences together without adding the bulk of “and”. I’m really into juxtaposition as a literary tool.

Tells us about your new release.

MARRY ME let me have fun with magic and candy hearts. How cool are enchanted talking candy hearts? They are totally cool. I’d never written a story in the Golden Era (aka Edwardian), so it was refreshing to explore a new time period in history.

The beginning of the 20th Century was an age of enlightenment. Woman discovered their voice as the world started coming into its own. Also, the Great War (World War I) would soon be upon the stage, but until then, I love how the world had such optimism and hope for the future. The emerging technology revolution that would mark the 20th Century was well and truly underway.

I tapped into this optimism for my characters Raymond and Millie. And they’re in New York City! Nowhere on this planet is more awesome than New York City.

BLURB:

When Raymond Wilson sees Millie at a rally, its love at first sight. Not wanting his stutter to ruin his chances, he enchants a little candy heart to do his talking for him.

For Millie, Raymond is a breath of fresh air. And maybe, just maybe, someone she could love. But for her social-climbing suitor Guy Elliot, he’s a threat to his plans. And Raymond isn’t the only one who knows something about magic. Now the ante has been upped and Millie is the prize…

perf5.000x8.000.indd

Buy Links:

TWRP: http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=195&products_id=6615

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/marry-me-heidi-wessman-kneale/1123145530?ean=2940158066740

Amazon: http://amzn.com/B019X88XXA

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/marry-me-28

About the Author: heidi

Heidi Kneale is an Australian author of moderate repute best known for her escapist fiction–especially Fantasy and Romance. She lives in Western Australia, near the ocean. Like most humans, she’s got a family. She also associates with the World’s Most Boring Cat. When not writing novels, she composes music and stares at the stars.

Contact Info:

Website: http://tinyurl.com/heidikneale

Blog: http://RomanceSpinners.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Heidi-Kneale-author-682340831889134

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/HeidiKneale

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2899577.Heidi_Wessman_Kneale

Amazon: http://amazon.com/author/heidikneale

2 thoughts on “Interview with Heidi Kneale

Leave a Reply

